Must Dash… NanoWriMo

Cat Sitting In Front of Blank Computer
(c) Wikimedia Commons

Well, Dear Reader, I’ve started on The Next Novel for NanoWriMo.  Not on Friday (1 November) when I theoretically should have done, because we were still entertaining the grandchildren. I started writing on my iPad on the train to Stratford (London) yesterday morning, and continued on the way back, for a longer stretch, helpfully facilitated by Greater Anglia Railways, by way of a late train which in turn caused me to miss my connection and to need to ask my husband to meet me.  By the time I had arrived home yesterday, I had achieved 1300 words, and after adding more at home later in the evening I reached 2000.  I should have been on 4000.

Writing late at night, or indeed using the computer at all, always disrupts my sleep.  Nano be blowed, I should’ve put my computer away, because I failed to sleep until 3am last night and by mid-afternoon today, after going to church and doing domestic chores, I was on my hands and knees with exhaustion.  I’m afraid to say that so far today (9.30pm) I’ve added only a few words, DR.  I have added a few because I’ve done the thing you’re not supposed to do in Nano, that is, I’ve gone back on what I wrote yesterday and edited.  I’ve been editing my previous Nano for 3 years and I’ve no intention – this time – of producing a draft which requires so much work, even if I don’t reach my 50,000 deadline by 30 November.

The Next Novel is about football by the way, about people supporting football, not playing it, women supporting it in particular.  I think it’s an interesting scenario and I hope I can make it work.

So onwards and upwards, towards the next thousand words.  I’m invigilating exams throughout the coming week.

2 responses to “Must Dash… NanoWriMo”

  1. Sounds like you are off to a good start! Best of luck getting your NaNo ON, and have fun with it!

    1. Rosemary Reader and Writer avatar
      Rosemary Reader and Writer

      Wish I was off to a good start, Katherine. You call yourself writersafterdark. Writing late is what I cannot do. I need to do it when I’m fresh.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.