Bad Blogger Blogs Late Because She’s Been on Writers’ Weekend

View of Scargill House, Yorkshire.
View of Scargill House, Yorkshire. Attrib Lucy Mills.

If other people keep telling you that something’s gobsmackingly amazing, what’s your reaction?  Me, I don’t respond well to hype and end to want to debunk whatever it is.  However, last weekend I went to the Association of Christian Writers’ Weekend at Scargill House, Yorkshire, which all my ACW writer friends said was… er… gobsmackingly amazing… and I can report, Dear Reader, that it was everything everybody said it was.

View from Scargill House, Yorkshire
View from Scargill House, Yorkshire. My photo.

Before I arrived, I didn’t know what to expect from the Scargill weekend.  The theme was ‘Dodging the Gatekeepers’ and it was led by Adrian and Bridget Plass, well-known as inspirational speakers.   Theologian and poet, Andrew Knowles, was also presenting, a lovely, funny, self-deprecating former canon theological of Chelmsford Cathedral, wearing shorts and t-shirt.  The ‘Gatekeepers’, I learned, are people and things which discourage us from writing, the unacknowledged audience whom we are forever trying to please: for instance, parents, siblings, spouses, teachers, members of your writing group.  To dodge these Gatekeepers, according to Adrian Plass, we have to acknowledge ‘the elephant in the living room’ and not allow them to set boundaries for us, particularly boundaries of respectability, whereby we feel safe and can deliver half-truths or half-solutions.  We must be true to ourselves.  We are asked if we would go to the pub with Jesus if he invited us and, tongue in cheek, told a story about a straitlaced lady from a strict church who refused because she didn’t drink alcohol.  Everything had a Christian emphasis, so I suppose the weekend wouldn’t appeal to everyone.

Rosemary knitting.
Rosemary knitting.  (Don’t I look awful in this photo?)  Attrib Helen Murray.

It wasn’t just the presentations and writing exercises, of course, that made the weekend.  Do want to know about the brooding Yorkshire Dales outside?  About the friends I spent time with and the new friends I made?  About the walk we took in the fells on Saturday afternoon?  Nightly story-time with story-teller, Amy Robinson.  Or how I knitted (part of) a square for the neo-natal unit at Bradford Infirmary (really addictive, Dear Reader)?  Never have I spent so much time talking to writers about writers.  They even made me feel like a proper writer.

7 thoughts on “Bad Blogger Blogs Late Because She’s Been on Writers’ Weekend

    1. Yes, do come next year, Kathryn. We might be able to share a car, or even a train journey.

  1. I do want to know about the Dales! I remember them from the train window on my way to the Lake District but never stopped. I should have. I need to know if they are as brooding as I have always imagined them.

  2. The Yorkshire Dales are certainly brooding, Camparigirl. Dark, craggy hills, casting deep shadows, which emphasises their green-ness, with grey dry stone walls and squat farm buildings. This is Bronte country – think Wuthering Heights! Also, for a more a light-hearted slant, Herriot country.

Leave a Reply

