ReBlog: Five Lies Creative Writing Teachers Tell

Actually, I can’t reblog this because it came off the Writers & Artists blog, a non-WordPress blog, but here is the link.

David Savill, Programme Director of the St Mary’s University Creative Writing MA and the author of this post, is writing about those darned rules for writers and how they don’t work, well, not all the time anyway.  He has just brought out a book They Are Trying To Break Your Heart  (Bloomsbury, 2016) which looks like a very interesting read.

A Small Grammar Point!   As I was writing the paragraph above, I wondered about the words not all the time.  I always believed that all the time was correct British usage and to insert of – as in, all of the time – was American usage.  Anybody any ideas?

Btw, I’m posting on the More Than Writers blog tomorrow (13 April), about humour.  Do take a look.  (Andrew Chamberlain is on there today, but he’s always good read too.)

See below the biggest grammar ouch ever, courtesy of Tesco!

Frees spelt with apostrophe, from Tesco sign.
Creative Commons (www.flickr.com)
4 thoughts on “ReBlog: Five Lies Creative Writing Teachers Tell

  1. Your expression sounds grammatically correct. The Americans love to include ‘of’ inappropriately, I find: ‘off of you’ being an example, like ‘can’t take my eyes off of you’. I’m no expert, though. Will have a read of the writing tips and take a look at your post tomorrow. Good luck!

    1. Thanks, Julie. I also will look it up. I have Fowler’s English Usage right beside me and I really SHOULD MAKE THE EFFORT.

  2. I think we need different, simpler and more rigid rules when we first start out. Once we know the basics we can decide which rules to break and when.

    1. Yes, I can see the need for simple and rigid rules for writers starting out, but the point this writer was making is that the rules writers are normally given are unworkable. How would you make them different, Patsy?

Leave a Reply

