New Year Resolutions For Writers (and Human Beings)

No, I’m not going on a Dry January, Dear Reader.  Undoubtedly, it would clear my head in the evening for writing, but you can take things too far.  Readers who have taken a look at my About page will see that, in Decembegirl_writerr 2012, I vowed to complete The Novel and get one of my stories between the covers of a womag by the end of 2013.  Oh dear, oh dear.  I’ve failed, Dear Reader, I’ve failed.   So here we go again.

  1. I will prepare to rewrite The Novel.   More historical research is needed and I can work on that.  Baby steps, Dear Reader, baby steps.  If other conditions are right, I might do it as a NaNoWriMo.  I will then write a synopsis for The Novel, because, if it does not work in its synopsis, it won’t work at all.  After that, I will plan The Novel chapter by chapter – Denise, I wonder if you’ll pick this up through Facebook?  (Years ago, when I first wrote it, Denise was my novel-writing buddy and she was shocked that I didn’t plan at all.)
  2. I will improve my description skills, by practising describing everything.
  3. I will read, and review, more historical novels.  What’s the point of having a history degree, Dear Reader, if you don’t use it?  (Yes, I know I haven’t used it at all since achieving it in 1976.)
  4. I will read and analyse more womag stories.  Fact:  all successful womag writers buy, read and enjoy magazine stories every month.
  5. I will cure myself of my addiction to crime (fiction… you knew what I meant, DR ).

    Lerida Figs
    Creative Commons Flickr
  6. I shall stop eating sweet things, especially dried fruit in the cupboard.  It’s a pity that those delicious dried Lerida figs are on the same shelf as the tea caddy!
  7. I will drink more water and squash.  Good for complexion and general health.
  8. I will exercise more.   Mm… lack of detail here.
  9. I will learn JavaScript, php and programming in Visual Basic.  This blog will be transformed, DR.

In the mean time, I have to work to earn my crust, so may be I’m allowed to read… just a little bit… more crime fiction.

6 thoughts on “New Year Resolutions For Writers (and Human Beings)

  1. Good luck with all your goals!

    I wouldn’t worry about your crime fiction addiction. I don’t worry about mine. Anyway, reading is research, isn’t it?

  2. Well, I hope you achieve your goals but I’m sure there’d be something else you’d beat yourself up for if you did … not resolving the world’s homeless crisis, perhaps?

Leave a Reply

