Kindle and Smashwords: Formatting Tips

A useful guide to self-publishing with Kindle and Smashwords. Thanks very much, Mishka Jenkins of ‘A Writer’s Life for Me’.

A Writer's Life For Me.

I’ve had a few emails from people asking about when I publish my books on Smashwords if they go through the ‘Meatgrinder’ and how do I do it.

I have to say I’ve never had a problem with Smashwords and all my books have gone through first time with no trouble. So, instead of copying and pasting the answer to reply to the emails, I thought I would do a blog on it.

Please note that these are just some of the things I do to get my books through Smashwords and Kindle, don’t take it as fact! I highly recommend reading both Kindle’s guide and Smashwords style guide in order to better understand the process.

This is a comparison of the same manuscript (my newest release, The Magic Spark) put through Smashwords (on the left) compared to Kindle (on the right).

kvss

Kindle Formatting:

– Justified alignment.
– Max…

View original post 708 more words

One thought on “Kindle and Smashwords: Formatting Tips

Leave a Reply

