Writerly Things I Have Learned

Hello, Dear Reader.  Remember me?  I would understand if you can’t.  Bloggers are supposed to post frequently – hey ho!  I’m not a good blogger – evidently.

Over the last few weeks, I have been struggling with a short story and just getting the hang of it when REAL LIFE intervened yet again.  Since I last opened the file for that story, my one and only husband and I have been visitated by my beloved son and girlfriend, my favourite daughter and amazing grandson, and various others.  And oh, we’ve started a new term, which involved (amongst other things) writing three very long worksheets on using WordPress and one on using Dropbox, to say nothing of planning lessons, dealing with students’ issues and management’s voracious appetite for statistics.

So, I thought I would make a list of the Writerly Things I Have Learned, during the few years I have gone public with my writing.  (Before that, I had written huge quantities of stuff, mainly novels, but not really shared it with anybody.)  Here goes:

  1. Real Life (see above), which so gets in the way of writing, is a writer’s best raw material.   Dear Writer, don’t knock it.  Some writers will tell you that their writing is the most important thing in their lives.  No, it isn’t.  Your family and friends are.  The more eventful your life, the more resources you have… without resorting to reading it up on the internet.  People like me whose lives have been spectacularly pedestrian are disadvantaged here, although even we have conflict and encounter characters.
  2.  The first bit of advice that the Real Writers on online writing sites told me was ‘Thou Shalt Not Use Adverbs”.  Emphatically.   However, when you read those things called books (even ebooks), you find them littered with adverbs.  Definitely.
  3. However good you think your spelling and grammar is, it isn’t.  My advice would be to write with a dictionary to hand and also ‘New Fowler’s English Usage’.
  4. We all have our favourite words and phrases.  Recognise and avoid them.
  5. You can’t write when you’re exhausted.  If your brain seems to have turned into cottonwool and you’re staring at a blank screen, log off.  However, you might ask yourself how much you want to write and balance that against the things that are tiring you out.  These might even include the day job.  Can you afford to work less?
  6. There are many, many worse writers than you out there and they’re getting published, making mistakes you wouldn’t dream of.   Think about what they’re doing that you’re not.  Maybe they’re better at publicity, better at subbing to the right market or just in the right place at the right time?
  7. Writing is a young person’s vocation.  And they’re doing it very well.  If you’re an older writer, don’t assume that your readers have had experienced the same events and same thought processes as you.  If your mc is an eighteen year old, make him/her behave eighteen, without the wisdom and gravitas of a fifty-five year old… ooh and without patronising either.
  8. Plan your stories.  Yes, I know you’re dying to dive straight in… Hello Chapter 11 Syndrome!
  9. If you write straight on to computer, be totally on top of Word, or whatever wp package you’re using.  You can’t write if you’re battling the software application.  Handwrite on paper and type up, if computers don’t come naturally.
  10. While we’re on IT, save every few minutes and back up at least every week.  For backing up, use a larger device like an external hard drive AND cloud storage like Dropbox – so you’re all prepared when you’re computer goes pop.  In fact, don’t save anything on folders in My Documents at all.
  11. If, while you’re writing, you discard a few paragraphs, save them in a separate ‘dump’ file.  You never know when you might need them again.
  12. Switch off the television when you’re writing.
  13. Read, but not passively.  Analyse what you’re reading:  1st or 3rd person, past/present tense, length etc.
  14. Write about what you enjoy.  If you don’t, no one else will.
  15. Sounds, especially music, are difficult to get on to a page.  Of course, you should mention them, but beware of the issues.
  16. And from Julie Wow:  Try not to compare yourself to anyone else. Tread your own path.Cartoon writerHope this strikes a chord.  Please write in with Writerly Points of your own.
2 thoughts on “Writerly Things I Have Learned

  1. Some good advice. I suppose I might add: ‘Try not to compare yourself to anyone else. Tread your own path.’ Easier said than done, I know, especially when everyone around you seems to be more successful at this writing lark. Self-belief and perseverance is the key. That’s what I keep telling myself anyway, and I’m sticking to it.

    Love the new look of your website, by the way. Very professional!

Leave a Reply

