Hello World

Nine out ten dentists should follow this blog if they wish to improve the reading matter in their waiting rooms.  Yes, it’s another writers’ blog.  Another writer wanting to share with you the ups and downs on the road to getting published.

A few readers will remember me from the defunct Google Blogspot blog ‘Lives to Write, Would Love to Write to Live’.  Hel-lo!  Yes, it’s me!  As I belong to various online writing communities (and have belonged to others in the past), some other readers may recognise me as Bluecity. Again, hel-lo.

Charlie Britten
Yes, that’s me. In my oldest ever T-shirt, on a ferry in Croatia. Wonder if I’ll ever be famous enough to need the sunglasses.

As this is the first post, let me tell you about ‘Write On’.

  • This blog will be about writing, not about me in real life… wife, mother, lecturer etc.  I would like to share with you my successes and failures, things that work for me and things that don’t, plus what I have learned from point zero, which was where I was a few years ago.  And did I say I will go off on the occasional rant?  Well, I fully intend to.
  • Links to my published works will eventually appear on the Sweet Success page, although that is ‘under construction’ at the moment.  I have first to seek the permission of all the editors of ezines who have published my work.
  • My area of expertise is IT.  The Writers and Computers page is about how I use IT as a writer.  What I will not do is recommend any so-called ‘writers’ software’ (free or otherwise),  all of which can go straight into the recycle bin, as far as I’m concerned.
  • I also know far more than I would like to about the dreaded writers’ condition – RSI.  If my experiences, as described on the Dreaded Lurgy page helps anyone else, I would be delighted.

I think that’s enough to be going on with.   I am also hoping to develop my own online writing magazine, to be named ‘Dear Reader’.  In fact, it’s three-quarters finished, but I just don’t have enough time to complete the magazine, get this blog up and running… and write as well.  That’s life, I think.

Leave a Reply

